Chapter Four – Romantic Rose

My first date with Zoe! I was so excited I could squeal. In fact, I did. Zoe laughed at my enthusiasm but grabbed a hold of my hands and squealed with me.

Zoe had decided to take me on a date to the park. The park is one of my favorite places to go in Willow Creek! How’d she guess? I took a picture of us to make our date “Simbook Official.”

The date started off pretty low-key. Zoe pointed out that one of the clouds looked like a pizza stain one of her geeky roommates left on the couch. It wasn’t exactly the most romantic comment, but it was funny. Pretty soon we were pointing out more clouds until we were laying in the dirt, not a care in the world, listing all the silly things we saw in the clouds. Then, we got up and walked around the park. I admired some of the flowers and asked her if she had a favorite.

She looked thoughtful a moment, then flashed a grin. “Well, I’ve always been partial to roses.”

I swatted her arm. “You’re just saying that.”

“Maybe. Or maybe it’s true,” Zoe said, still smiling in that way that made my heart flutter.

“Well, then, would you accept a rose from a Rose?”

Zoe accepted the rose from me and laughed. “That’s so cheesy.”

“Not as cheesy as being partial to roses,” I said. I might have felt a little embarrassed but the way Zoe was smiling put me so at ease.

“What’s important is that I ROSE to the occasion. Eh? Eeeeeeh?” Zoe made a little jazz-hands motion.

“That’s terrible.”

We took a break from walking and sat down on a bench together, taking in the scenery. Except it was kind of hard to pay attention to the scenery when I was in such good company.

I placed my hand over Zoe’s hand and looked at her in earnest. “Zoe, I’ve… never felt this way about anyone before.”

“Believe me, I understand.”

“I know what they mean about butterflies in the stomach now…”

“Oh no!” Zoe gasped, her eyes widening.

I stopped, unsure a moment. “Uh, what?”

“We’ll have to get those butterflies out! TICKLE, TICKLE!”

Surprise tickle attack! I never saw it coming. I laughed until my sides hurt. “Hey! Stop. Hahahahaha! That’s… hahahaha. C’mon, Zoe. Hahaha.”

“No more butterflies for you. I’m going to tickle them to death!”

“Hahahaha. You’re going to tickle ME to death! Stop!”

Zoe relented, but I kept my hands up, guarded for any potential second round. “You goof. Do you tickle all of your first dates?”

“Pfft. You’re the best date I’ve ever had, and I like hearing you laugh.”

I pouted. “Did you have to tickle me, though? That’s not very romantic.”

Zoe’s eyes gleamed with mischief. “Oh, it can be~”

I wasn’t sure I entirely caught her meaning, but the little sing-song note in her voice made my face feel hot.

“Rose red is a good look for you.”

I could scarcely think of the words, and I was sure my face was lighting up like a holiday tree. “Yeah, well, uh-” I scrambled for something to say.

And then, it hit me like lightning. The perfect thing to say. I’d show her. I stretched my arms out, then carefully laid my arm over Zoe’s shoulders. I glanced about a moment and lowered my voice.

“I bet rose would look good on you, too.”

Zoe turned a very pretty shade after that, and I felt triumphant. Gold medalists had nothing on me in that moment.

“Maybe… you should give me a taste of what that’s like?” Zoe suggested, her voice soft.

“I, uh-” I blinked a few times and felt my face go hot again.

Zoe stood and offered her hand to me. “Don’t be shy. Come up here. And kiss me.”

I thought I was going to melt in a pile of goo. My heart was going to beat out of my chest.

I took Zoe’s hand and stood. She had pulled me a little close. Well, really close. I breathed and looked into her beautiful brown eyes.

“It’s okay?”

“More than okay,” Zoe said, gentle, giving my hand a squeeze. She closed her eyes. I leaned in.

My imagination could not compare to what my real, first kiss was like. It was everything I hoped it would be and more. I loved it. I loved Zoe.

I couldn’t help myself. I kissed her more. Harder. She was surprised when she was suddenly dipped, but she did not protest. She returned my kiss with just as much passion. We were both a little breathless by the end of it.

How fortunate we were in a secluded area of the park. I imagine we would’ve gotten quite a few stares, otherwise.

Kissing might have been the end of the date, but we sat down to breathe and talk. Mostly, we gushed about the kiss and about each other. It was hard parting ways.

We had more dates. As many as we could cram into our schedules.

One day, not long after, I asked her if she’d ever consider moving in with me. I mean, sure, it sounded like she had a good time with her roommates and all-

But I bet we could have an even better time. Together.

Apparently, she agreed. She told me she thought I’d never ask.

2 thoughts on “Chapter Four – Romantic Rose

  1. Awwww I love fluff! You know I love fluff 😚 I’m on the tube now and I’m grinning sillilly to myself because of all the fluff ❀ And the Rose puns were so funny and cute haha they’re both so smitten and they look so adorable together! I love it 😍 Woop woop and the first kiss plus the moving in, Rose has really gotten her life sorted πŸ’•πŸ‘ I’m really looking forward to seeing their kids, I just know they’d be gorgeous πŸ˜™

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment